Richmond Home

Neumann Lecture Series

The University of Richmond Department of Music invites one distinguished music scholar each year to address the university, the Greater Richmond area and the scholarly communities, and to spend time with its students. The Neumann Lectures offer a further opportunity to expand the vision of the University of Richmond as a locus for serious dialogue about music, the arts, and society.  

Frederick Neumann (1907-1994)

Born in Bielitz, Austro-Hungary, Frederick "Fritz" Neumann studied the violin from early childhood.  Following the completion of his Ph.D. from the University of Berlin and a brief career as an export-market analyst in Prague, he returned to the study of the violin and became a United States citizen in 1943.  By 1952, he completed an M.A. and a Ph.D. in Music Education at Columbia University.  

Appointed to the music faculty of the University of Richmond in 1955, Fritz taught violin, founded the University Symphony, and was concertmaster of the Richmond Symphony.  He retired from the University in 1978.  

From the mid 1960s, Fritz occupied himself principally with the research of authentic performance practice, particularly of the 17th and 18th centuries, a career that was furthered by grants from the American Philosophical Society, the Guggenheim Foundation, the American Council of Learned Societies, and the National Endowment for the Humanities.  

The American Musicological Society presented him with the prestigious Otto Kinkeldey Award in 1987 for the volume Ornamentation and Improvisation in Mozart.

2018 Neumann Lecture

Accompaniment as Social Practice
Dr. George Lipsitz, University of California, Santa Barbara
Feb. 26, 2018, 7:30 p.m.
Weinstein Hall, Brown-Alley Room

Accompaniment is not just a formal musical practice. It is a disposition, a sensibility, a pattern of behavior, and a cultivated capacity with enormous social significance.  In music and in social life, accompaniment can produce an ethical practice of co-creation and improvisation that is sorely needed in this historical moment saturated with hate, hurt and fear.  

Past Lecturers

2003    Christoph Wolff (musicologist)

2004    Susan McClary (musicologist)

2005    Kay Kaufmann Shelemay (ethnomusicologist)

2006    Nicholas Till (musicologist)

2007    Guthrie Ramsey (musicologist)

2008    Suzanne Cusick (musicologist)

2009    Roger Parker (musicologist)

2011    Lei Liang (composer)

2012    Joseph Flummerfelt (conductor)

2013    Craig Wright (musicologist)

2014    Anthony Seeger (ethnomusicologist)

2015    Jessie Ann Owens (musicologist)

2016    J. Peter Burkholder (musicologist)

2017    Deborah Wong (ethnomusicologist)